out sourcing

Raising children has brought me a whole new affection for children’s literature, fantasy and fairytales. Oh how I love a good story! We acquired mountains of children’s books from a generous neighbor when the kids were wee mites. Several within this collection were beautiful old stories with lovely illustrations that just keep haunting me. One of these books is called Animals at My Doorstep, which sadly is misplaced for the moment, but a salvage of the title spine sits on my window sill. Another lovely book is Dash & Dart which has some very enchanting images of fawns and one peculiar cover image of a seemingly two headed deer that most certainly will show up in a future painting. I also keep a copy of Frederic on my bookshelf to remind me of the important role artists have in our society. All of these reads have played an influence(consciously or not) in my current series started by this piece here, Evening in the Woods:

IMG_0237

One thought on “out sourcing

  1. I thought I had read every one of Helen Hoover’s books, but I see I’ve missed one. Such a great writer and their experiences were so close to home! Your paintings are extraordinary, Shawna!

Leave a Reply

