time in the muddle

Yesterday was an incredible day of sunshine and feverish spring planting.  Preparing the plot for seeds is always my least favorite, weeding, digging, amending. . . but yesterday was different. 

As each gardening year passes, I’ve grown more interested in the preparation and care of the soil.  Everywhere I turn garden experts encourage such obsession and finally I heeded their nagging voices. 

Yesterday was different because of the work I did last fall.  My hands pulled with ease loosening new weeds, the soil structure light and full of organic matter.  Suddenly I was planting!  With the energy left over I created labels to remember where I planted what in my Mondrian-like grid of square-foot sections. 

I assure you, this is not typical spring planting behavior for me.  I’m usually wild-eyed, frantic and most certainly I’ve procrastinated to the point of desperation lunging myself towards the small, quickly closing crack of time in which we can successfully plant in my zone.  Though my kids were driving me mad with endless crises, my calmness and joy in the task before me were zen-like. 

What a blessing preparation can be!  The applications for this forethought are limitless. 

Actually applying it. . .well I guess that’s where wisdom and patience become graceful garlands for your head and pendants for your neck.

**Painting Composition 8 by Piet Mondrian

2 thoughts on “time in the muddle

  1. Love your comments, Shawna. It is true that, properly prepared, any project can become an absolute joy. It is the preparation however, that seems so frustating, time consuming and unending- yet, once completed properly, the project becomes what it was intended to be-relaxing, inspiring, productive and refreshing. Then again, is it that fact that we put SO much effort in the preparation that the “harvest” is that much more meaningfull….hmmmm

    1. I think your right, Dad, that contrast is what makes it more valuable. The same is true of the light. . . .without the contrast of darkness, we can’t fully appreciate the light. I think its why I love living in this part of the country so much, without the barren, frozen-ness of winter, the lushness of summer is less impressive and some might argue less overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

