poison apples and leftover coal

. . .and more with the coal incident from the last post. . .as horrifying as the ordeal was, the redemptive picture in Isaiah 6:5-7 was brought into a whole new light:  “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.” Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

Now, we have an apple that’s been sitting on our counter for several weeks from an apple-picking extravaganza.  It sits there all round and red and chartreuse, bearing dried black drips of poison on its crispy skin.  Not rat poison, its something organic gardeners place in a big, fake red apple to entice evil bugs who are out to worm their way through the tasty flesh.  Sometimes it drips out of the plastic apple onto real apples below. 

And so I keep it there on the counter.  I’m not sure why. 

I guess it reminds me of the apple offered to Snow White. . .and that reminds me of the apple(was it and apple?) offered to Eve. . .which reminds me from whence I came and to where I’m going once I’ve returned to dust. 

I like reminders like that.  Poisoned by apples, cleansed by coal.

 

**Painting is by Lucas Cranach the Elder, Adam and Eve, 1526

2 thoughts on “poison apples and leftover coal

  1. this is beautifully rich food for thought… a poem or painting is in it, or maybe the whole thing is just inside the objects and their place.

Leave a Reply

