Things that make you go YUM!

Babycakes NYC

A while back I saw mention of this bakery in NYC that has the most wonderful rags to riches story. A true inspiration for food allergy sufferers of which Emma and I are. Here are some straight from their website tidbits that make you want to read on or visit their website to ooohhh and aaaahhhh:

“In a city dominated by cupcakes overflowing with sugar, flour and butter cream, it’s easy for those with delicate tummies to feel left out. BabyCakes offers all natural, organic and delicious alternatives free from the common allergens: wheat, gluten, dairy, casein and eggs. Rest assured, all sweeteners have been chosen responsibly and used sparingly. White sugar will never be found in our bakery, nor will we ever use toxic chemical sweeteners. Instead, most products are sweetened with agave nectar—a natural syrup from a cactus which is low on the glycemia index and often a safe alternative to most non-insulin dependant diabetics. Occasionally, unprocessed and unrefined sugar is used in certain goods, although sparingly.Erin McKennaFounder, BabyCakes NYC™

It’s true, I’ve never had a bite from their menu *sigh* . . .but. . . the recipe she gave on Martha Stewart for brownies was awesome(see below) and now I’m finding all sorts of uses for garbanzo bean flour and agave nectar!
There is something about this story that inspired me at a time when I was really stressing over the Emma-no-dairy issue. Its entrepreneurial America at its finest. There are a couple links below to some magazine stories on this little unpretentious bakery:

and some recipes seen on Martha Stewart:

I know this is a diversion from the rigors of daily toddler life, but sometimes I get wary of talking about the kids, funny as they may be and as much as I love them, I don’t like them to dominate my every thought, which can happen at such a demanding age. So breathe deeply and imagine yourself sitting at this little bakery on a sunny Sunday afternoon and enjoy this break from my kids. Trust me, we need it:)
Leave a Reply

