Day 1

Last night was Day 1 of No-More-Binkies. The fear of parenthood was put into me earlier that day by an experienced friend who is attempting the same thing with her 2 1/2 yr old. Her laments at wishing she had done it earlier left me contemplating removing them now as already we see their attachment to bedtime things deepening with each passing day.

So at dinner, Eddy and I talked about doing it this weekend, while he was home to lighten the load. But then. . . they didn’t ask for them at bedtime and we decided to just see if they could do without them. Let me just say it wasn’t as bad as I thought it could be. We had already restricted their pacifier use to the cribs, but taking them completely away was another animal. I really expected an all out war last night. Emma cried on and off for an hour, but finally fell asleep just fine. There were some tense moments during the night when I thought we might just have to give in, but then all of the sudden it was morning and we had survived. Nap time today was iffy. It took Emma a bit longer to finally drift off but she’s down and gripping Lamby(her cuddly beanie baby lamb) for all he’s worth. Josiah was really upset when he first got into the crib, but then settled down, unable to resist Bluey(his super-soft blue stuffed elephant) and his cozy blankie.

So here we are. Tonight will be Day 2, just taking it a day at a time. I’m really torn about how much to explain to them. They can understand quite a bit, but how much is actually necessary. We talked a little about it today during playtime, but they just stared at me, mostly interested in the reference I made to giving the binkies to babies who really need them. They both said “babies?” But then looked out the window for them. Anyways, we’re just flying by the seat of our pants, so I’ll keep you posted.

More Christmas pics to enjoy!
One thought on “Day 1

  1. Last month, I too took away the pacifier from Micah. It actually went much better than I thought. He never really asked for it (it helped that he was pretty tired at bedtime and nap time) and he’s been doing great ever since!I do think that having a special stuffed animal or blanket really is key in the success of weaning a toddler from the pacifier. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

