Snow, Bipolar and an RV

Well it snowed tonight. The beginning of a long season of white stuff. I personally love winter. Not only because it gives me time to recuperate after all the crazy consuming summer projects outside, but also its a time when I feel like hibernating. I love watching the snow fill the yard in a nice even blanket, making the ugly things pretty and the pretty things beautiful. Its shocking to me when people complain about the winter here. I just assume they knew what they were getting into by choosing to live here. Most people here are tough folks, but there are a few that for whatever reason live here and never stop moaning about the winters. I hate to break it to them, but that’s part of the deal. It comes every year. It stays for 5-6 months(half the year), so why not enjoy it. Yup its cold. Dress properly and I promise you won’t die, you might even like it. The water is amazing with the huge sheets of ice piling up on the shore. And its sooooo quiet when it snows. Its really lovely. I will admit the Spring here is brutal. Very slushy, soggy and muddy. But even with that, Spring is filled with hope as little crocuses pop up and buds push forth. I guess I’m a sucker for the variety of all four distinct seasons.
The kids are in such an interesting stage. One minute they are cracking me up with every move or word. Then, and it can happen in the blink of an eye, they are crying uncontrollably, hitting each other, pulling hair and poking out eyes! What happened!??? Other times we are all cuddled up on the couch reading a book, then we’ll turn the page and Wham! they are freaking out, screaming, kicking and falling off the couch. Its as if I’m living with two Dr. Jekyll’s and Mr. Hyde’s. I guess this is the bipolar stage of toddler hood. Can I get medicine for this condition? Just kidding.

Anywho, not that anyone has been asking, but the answer is yes, my brother, Bryan, is living in an RV. Yes he owns it and heats it with wood. No he’s not a hermit, but he’s what we like to call, “unique.” Believe it or not, I think its perfect for him, mobile and white-trashy. (He can’t defend himself cuz he’s out chopping wood to stay warm in his Airstream, he he he:)) Love ya Bryan!

Leave a Reply

