Feeling crafty!


As the cold air settles in, I start to feel crafty. This weekend, instead of hanging pictures like I need to, I made some mittens and a hat for Emma. They sort of look like she made them, which I like. I’m really not a perfectionist so these little projects always turn out child-like, maybe because I lack patience for the details. . .hence the massive amounts of unfinished projects hovering around our house. I kind of like the flaws though, it reminds me of how human I am and that perfection is just an illusion.

As I’m starting to think of Christmas, the projects are growing in my mind, especially since finances are extremely tight this year, homemade is our theme. Eddy already cut some blocks for the kids from some wood leftover from the fence project this summer. They’ll love those. They are learning to stack things and knock over each others’ towers. My cousin, Sara, has a great rule for building towers, you can only knock over the towers you build, not someone elses! I love that! Now if I can just explain that to Josiah as he runs across the entire house to bulldoze Emma’s lovely tower, that’d be awesome! The terrorists really could’ve used that rule a few years ago.

We are snotty-nosed and coughing over here. We had to skip church and a costume party this weekend so as not to spread our snotty-love to other toy-licking children. There is really nothing grosser than seeing a huge stream of snot running down your kid’s face and racing to use a tissue on it before they use their arm to smear it everywhere. Sorry for the graphic description, I’m venting. Its just disgusting. I don’t care how much I love my kids, I hate their snot. They seem to be on the mend, but who knows, these things can last for weeks. Fortunately we haven’t had any fevers! šŸ™‚

Here is some more riveting news. . .drum roll please. . . I think we’re gonna let our newspaper subscription run out. Badump-bump. That’s it for today, folks!

Leave a Reply

